Veteran’s Day

11 Nov

Sometimes I try very hard to forget one serious fact- I’m American.  Even though my home base is in Toronto, smashing whiskey bottles over the head of the almost always haggard Alex, I was born in Philadelphia.  I travel a lot, and usually tell foreigners that I’m Canadian.  It saves a lot of hassle, and possible beheadings.  Today though, is the one day where I can really say I’m proud to be American.  Some of my buddies north of the border might want to puke at that fact I’m saying this, but you know what, FUCK YOU.  USA-A-OK.  Fuck yeah.

johnnycash_bp

Only in America.

Unlike most Canadians I know, I’ve actually lost people because of war.  It’s a hard and thankless job.  Any time I meet a veteran, I try to be the first one to shake his hand.  I thought that I’d seen some shit over the years, but those people have seriously seen some shit.  A couple of nights ago, I met a guy who has already served 2 tours in Afghanistan, and is going back in May.  That is some serious courage.

So today marks the first annual Digital Veteran’s Day.  It’s a way for veteran’s to share their stories, and build a community around mutual experiences and respect.

I’ve put together a couple of videos from DVD supporters and I thought I’d share their stories with you.

Remember, don’t just support the troops with a bumper sticker.  Do something productive.  Volunteer at a military hospital or in a soup kitchen.  Walk the fucking walk.

6 Responses to “Veteran’s Day”

  1. Vee Bloom November 11, 2009 at 8:57 PM #

    Thanks Jim. This means alot and I am sure it means alot to other people.

  2. skyler hype November 11, 2009 at 9:10 PM #

    Nearly 33 percent of servicemen and women deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan will experience mental health issues. never forget the sacrifice of those who protect our freedom. http://tinyurl.com/yb8xt3x

  3. the mule November 11, 2009 at 9:11 PM #

    i have no unkind words to say here.

    remembering them always,

    the mule

    side note – war is Fucking RIDICULOUS!

  4. chachi November 11, 2009 at 9:52 PM #

    I’m glad to see this happening. The digital veterans day is a good idea. I don’t know if it’s just because i’m getting older, but it seems remembrance day and veteran’s day is losing steam every year.. Is it because were less connected to the events of the world wars? The evolution of social technologies causing a decentralization of society? Does that make sense? I don’t know. I’m a little tired but i know anything i’ve experienced in my life so far doesnt come close to comparing what veterans have been through. And so not just during this time of year, I tip my hat.

  5. Alex James November 12, 2009 at 1:30 PM #

    Jim, you rat bastard, I didn’t know they even HAD internet access in Bora Bora or wherever the hell you are right now (I couldn’t make heads or tails of the IP address), but I’m glad you put this up.

    I’m one of those Canadians, as you well know, who’s morally opposed to war as a general rule, but I’ll be the first person to stand up and say that wars aren’t started or propogated by the men and women in the field. They put their asses on the line every day; their job is to be (and I quote a hero of mine) “brave as a motherfucker” all day long, and their sacrifices and commitment can’t be understated.

    Again, thanks for posting this. I couldn’t have said it better myself. And coming from me that’s praise of the highest order.

    On a side note, if you try breaking a whiskey bottle over my head, I’ll kick your ass from here till next Tuesday.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Post-Traumatic Stress Debacle: VA Calls PTSD “Fabrication” « State of Affairs - November 16, 2009

    […] integrity that I chose not to write topical posts on either Veteran’s Day or Remembrance Day, though Jim did. I felt if I had something to say about the subject, I’d like to wait until a few days later […]

Leave a Reply

