Music Club: Muse

25 Sep

I used to describe Muse to my friends as Smashing Pumpkins meets Radiohead but with hard hitting conspiracy fueled lyrics.  That was 5 years ago, and a lot of things have changed.  Muse still has the same lyrics, but have really come into their own musically.  Sure, Matthew Bellamy sounds like Thom Yorke, but that’s the only comparison I can make nowadays.  Hearing Knights of Cydonia for the first time really made me realize who these guys were, and what they could do.

Now Muse is back with a new album, “Resistance”.  I highly recommend picking it up.  A great evolution for the band.  Here’s the first single, “Uprising”:

2 Responses to “Music Club: Muse”

  1. Sean September 25, 2009 at 3:39 PM #

    I’ve liked these guys for quite some time – actually, I think the first thing that I heard by them was their cover of The Smiths’ “Please, Please, Please Let Me Get What I Want”, and that was forever ago.

    One thing that strikes me about “Uprising” is that it reminds me an awful lot of the “Dr. Who” theme.
    Personally, though, I’m a big fan of that driven sort of sound.
    It’s also fitting that Bellamy looks like he could well be The Doctor, in this video.

  2. Music Blog October 11, 2009 at 12:29 AM #

    I think Matt Bellamy is nice person with great talent.

Leave a Reply

